Sam Adams Elementary School

Sam Adams School Improvement Survey 2014-2015

In an effort to improve system practices, Sam Adams Elementary School is conducting a Parent Survey. We value your opinion and ask that you take the time to complete this survey. In order to complete the survey, please go to:

 http://www.advanc-ed.org/survey/public/4011163

Please be assured that your responses to this survey will be anonymous. Your honest opinion is appreciated. Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

2014-15 Supply List

Sam Adams Elementary School
Principal Welcome Letter 2014

 

Welcome To…..                               

Sam Adams Elementary School!

The 2014-15 school year will be fun, exciting, and full of new educational opportunities for the Sam Adams School Family!

Effective with the fall sports season of the 2014-15 school year, Cassopolis Public Schools will no longer carry student insurance.  This will now be the responsibility of the parent/guardian. 

 

2014-15 Curriculum Information

Math

The staff at Sam Adams Elementary is currently working with Kalamazoo Regional Educational Service Agency (KRESA) on a professional development MATH series! This professional development series is activity-based; built around a collection of example classroom lessons aligned to the Mathematical Practices and Content called for with the Common Core State Standards for Mathematics.  Teachers are provided with detailed information about each grade-level content standard, lessons that are in support of students developing a deep understanding of the content standard and diagnostics for assessing students’ level.  Teachers are also provided a plan for teaching the content standards with the appropriate focus, coherence, and rigor as is called for in the Common Core.

Eureka Math Support for Math parents: http://commoncore.org/parents

Art Expressions

Students K-6 will have the opportunity to express their creativity through Art and Creative Writing.  This class will provide students with the skills to develop their artistic abilities through “hands on” art activities that relate to their creative writing, which is aligned to the Common Core.

Title I Reading and Math

Sam Adams students will be given additional information in Reading and Math this year by two highly qualified teachers.  This instruction will focus on Tier II Interventions for K-6 students that are struggling with skills in the Common Core Curriculum.  Title I will be an extension of the classroom with small group and one-on-one support.

Technology

Neo 2 Boards

Our dedicated computer teacher, Shelli Burks, researches “Best Practices” to enhance student learning to its fullest.  Two Neo Board mobile labs will be implemented this year to help all students in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies.  All children will have the opportunity to work on them through a variety of programs that Sam Adams Elementary offers.

Programs

We have added a variety of new programs to our state of the art technology resources to enhance student learning.

Read Naturally- Increased Reading Levels for Title I Reading

Star- Reading, Early Literacy (Star Fall) & Math.

Accelerated Math Live & Math in a Flash- Personalize instruction for every student.  This program creates individualized practice assignments and tests at each student’s level, allowing teachers to keep every student motivated and challenged.

What’s New!

The safety of our students is our Number 1 priority! Sam Adams Elementary now has 40 cameras installed in and out of the building for 24 hour surveillance.

New bleachers have been purchased and will be installed in our gymnasium for our fall sports and assemblies!

 

Ranger Pride!

The Sam Adams School Family is proud of our students and their behavior!  We will continue to support the positive behavior initiative “Ranger Pride”!

P-Positive

R-Respectful

I-Inclusive

D-Dependable

E-Enthusiastic

 

 

 

 

 

SPECIAL LINKS

 

Sam Adams Elementary School, 114 S. Depot Street, Cassopolis MI 49031
  samsbldgw

Start time is 7:55 a.m.
Breakfast for students is from 7:30-7:50 a.m.
Dismissal @ 3:07 p.m.


 

The current PTO officers are:
     
President Teresa Dahlgren 269-445-8085
     
Vice-Pres Nichole Drews  
     
Secretary Lindsay Gorham  
     
Treasurer Tanya Leach  

 

Annual Cover Letter

Annual Report

Student Handbook

Traffic Route for Sam Adam’s Drop-Off and Pick-Up

 
 
  DeeAnn Melville-Voss
Principal and K-6 Title I and Curriculum Director
269-445-0516
  Deb Stermer,
Lead Teacher
  Loretta Bowers, Secretary
    Julie Blaske, Secretary

Teaching Staff Websites

Sam Adams Elementary Teaching assignments and web sites

 

Kindergarten

Mrs. Cheryl Rogers, crogers1.weebly.com

Mrs. Jayna Sobecki, jaynasobecki.weebly.com

Mrs. Donna Warren, dwarren.weebly.com

 

1st Grade

Mrs. Lesa Bueche, lbueche.weebly.com

Mrs. Renee Newland, rnewland.weebly.com

Mrs. Angela Vega, mrsvega.weebly.com

 

2nd Grade

Mrs. Amy Pike, amypike.weebly.com

Philip Staulter, mrstaulter.weebly.com

Mrs. Cathy Prestly, cprestly.weebly.com

 

3rd Grade

Mrs. Julie Allen, mrsallenclass.weebly.com

Mrs. Tracy Allison, tlallison.weebly.com

 

4th Grade

Mrs. Gustafson, mrskgustafson.weebly.com

Mrs. Joan Potter, jpotter1.weebly.com

 

5th Grade

Sarah Mason. mrsmasoncassopolis.weebly.com

Mrs. Nan Schuur, nmschuur.weebly.com

Mrs. Jessica Mark, jessmark.weebly.com

 

6th Grade

Mrs. Rachele Ward, mrsward.weebly.com

Mr. Eric Burns, burnscassopolis.weebly.com

 

Special Education

Mrs. Cristy Ernst, mrsernst.weebly.com

Mrs. Cheryl Graham, cgraham12.weebly.com

 

Specials

Mrs. Shelli Burks, http://sacps.weebly.com

Adam Noaeil, http://cassbandandchoir.weebly.com/

Mrs. Jean Porath

Mr. Dan Purlee, http://dpurlee.weebly.com/

 

Title Services

Mrs. Aryn Carlisle, acarlisle.weebly.com

Mrs. Lindsay Gorham, lgorham.weebly.com

 

31a

Glorianna Lang

 

Support Services

Mrs. Deb Stermer, debstermer.weebly.com

Mrs. Judith (Maria) Jones, mariajones.weebly.com

Mrs. Denise Gendron, dgendron.weebly.com