Board of Education

Cassopolis Public Schools Board Members

  no image
 Scott Ward, President  Lisa Cutting, Vice President
 725 Center Street  725 Center Street
 Cassopolis, MI  49031  Cassopolis, MI  49031
Susan Horstmann, Secretary George Calvert, Treasurer
725 Center Street 725 Center Street
Cassopolis, MI  49031 Cassopolis, MI  49031
Vacant Seat  Deb Deubner, Trustee
725 Center Street  725 Center Street
Cassopolis, MI 49031 Cassopolis, MI 49031
Amanda Smego, Trustee  Jesse Binns, Trustee
725 Center Street  725 Center Street
Cassopolis, MI 49031  Cassopolis, MI 49031


The Board of Education is frequently the closest link between the community and the school aside from the students in the District. Board members are elected for four-year terms of office.

Board meetings are held at Squires Educational Center, 725 Center Street, Cassopolis, MI. All regularly scheduled board meetings are open to the public and it has always been the policy in Cassopolis to encourage attendance at these meetings. Board meetings are held as follows: 2nd and 4th Monday of the month starting at 7:00 p.m. Special meetings are called in advance; agendas and meetings are posted according to requirements.

The Board of Education sets school policies, approves the appointment of personnel, adopts budgets, approves courses of study and, in many instances, must be the final arbiter on many controversial issues. The Board and the Superintendent are concerned about an effective program of communication, keeping the community informed in a manner that understanding and confidence are engendered in the school program.


Cassopolis Public Schools Board of Education will meet as follows for the 2014-2015 school year. Meetings will be held in the Board Meeting Room at Squires Education Center, 725 Center Street, Cassopolis.

2nd Monday of the month   4th Monday of the month  
July 14 (Reorganization) July 28
August 11 August 25
September 8 September 22
October 13 October 27
November 10 November 24
December 8 No 2nd meeting due to holiday
January 12 January 26
February 9 February 23
March 9 March 23
April 13 April 27
May 11 No 2nd meeting due to holiday
June 8 June 22